music videos

June 1, 2008 at 5:40 pm Leave a comment

I think it’s safe to say that those of us who remember a day when there was a legitimate expectation that music would be something you’d find occasionally on MTV, long for a good old fashioned video every now and then. Thanks to youtube, you can now view the videos of yore right on your computer screen in mediocre quality. But. It’s better than nothing.

Anyway, so I find when I look up a music video on youtube it always leads me to at least a dozen other songs/videos I’d forgotten about.
The other day, my 90’s pop progression went as follows:
EMF, Unbelievable -> Filter – Take my Picture> Duncan Sheik – Barely Breathing> Natalie Imbruglia – Torn> Red Hot Chili Peppers – Scar Tissue> Harvey Danger – Flagpole Sitta> Eve 6 – Inside Out> Cake – Short Skirt, Long Jacket> Baz Luhrmann – Everybody’s Free to Wear Sunscreen> Fatboy Slim – Praise You

I figured I’d stop there, because it’s hard to top Spike Jonze.

Anyway, I highly encourage getting lost in music video nostalgia for a few minutes. Here are a few other good launching points for your own video progressions:

Fatboy Slim – Weapon of Choice – Christopher Walken, baby!
Peter Gabriel – Sledgehammer – mmm. stop motion.
George Michael – Faith – doht-da-doht-da-doht. da-doht-doht.
New Radicals – You Get What You Give – one hit wonders = best video progressions
Marcy Playground – Sex and Candy– like double cherry pie, like disco superfly
NSYNC – I Drive Myself Crazy – why so literal, boys?
The White Stripes – Fell In Love With A Girl – i still can’t figure out how they did this.
Supergrass – Pumping On Your Stereo – um. it’s muppets with people heads.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

In Rotation Ira Glass on Good Taste

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello Friends

Welcome to my blog. I plan on exploring a bit of culture a bit of design a bit of whatever strikes my fancy.

RSS Me at Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Recent Posts

del.icio.us


