Home Group Question and Answer Session (or more than anyone ever wanted to know about me)

May 9, 2008 at 10:24 am 1 comment

So in an effort to get to know one another a little better my home group has been having question and answer sessions with various members. I was in the hot seat this week and have posted below, most of the questions and my answers. Please excuse typos, grammar, and spelling errors as I wrote these out pretty quickly.

From Will
1.) You find out that in 24 hours you will no longer be on this Earth. What do you do?
24 hours is not long. Does everyone else just have 24 hours as well, or just me? I guess if it’s just me who’s leaving I would spend it with family and friends, laughing and talking and telling them all how much I love them and care about them and what great people they are and what I hope for them in the future. I’d spend it saying goodbyes.

2.) If you could choose any other language to speak other than English what would it be and why?
I’d love to be able to speak Italian or some form of Gaelic mostly because those are the two parts of the I’d most like to visit or even live. Luckily, both places either have English as a primary language or are pretty friendly to English speakers.

3.) A movie about your life is being cast. Who plays you and any other supporting characters? Why?
Well my mom would totally be Bonnie Hunt. My dad…I dunno maybe 80’s era Kenny Rogers. Lisa Kudrow for my middle sister. She has sort of a ditsy edge to her. Jessica Simpson would play my youngest sister.
I think for me, if we’re throwing looks and age out the window, I’ll go with Parker Posey because I love her sense of humor. Maybe Courtney Cox. I always related to her character in Friends. Oh and John Corbett could play my love interest. Mhmm.

4.) If Gibson were human what would he say?
He’d say “Hey! Can we play Frisbee? Are you busy? No? Can we play Frisbee? Can we play Frisbee? Can we play Frisbee? You don’t look busy. Can we play Frisbee? I love Frisbee. Wanna play Frisbee with me?”

5.) What’s your happiest, non-essential memory?
This one is very random but whenever the days start to get really long I think of it.
It was summer time and it was late – about 8:30 p.m. and still quite light outside. I was laying on the grass in our front yard with a neighborhood friend and we where looking up at the streetlight which was just starting to flicker on. We were trying to see how high we could count before our parents called us to come inside. I have no idea how high we got or why we thought that was fun, but I remember feeling extremely excited that I was outside, playing with a friend until almost 9:00 p.m.

From Sharon
01 . are you a morning or night person? have you always been that way?
I’m definitely a night person and have been that way since I was a teenager. When I was little-little I used to get up at the crack of dawn and watch cartoons, but ever since age 12 or so I’ve been more of a night owl. If I had my way, I would get started at about 11:00 a.m. and go to sleep around 1:00 a.m.

02 . tell us about a quirky habit of yours.
Hmm…I fidget with things all of the time. I do things like open and close pens, peel labels off of objects, fold and tear paper.

03 . what’s a typical day like for you?
Work day: Wake up, get shower, iron clothes, get dressed, do hair, do make-up, drive to work and get there just on time. I rarely if ever eat breakfast…I really should though. I know it’s good for you. Once I get to work I typically check emails and answer anything that’s outstanding from the day before. I will usually then start one of the projects that I have on my task list which could be anything from designing a PowerPoint to writing a press release to building a report from our company’s ridiculously horrible database. I’ll work on one thing for a bit and then usually do lunch around 12:30. I sometimes go home. I sometimes visit my parents (and dog). I sometimes just go across the street with a coworker. I rarely eat lunch in the office. I just like being able to leave work for a bit during the day. After lunch I’ll work a little more on projects. At about 3-4 I’ll do an email check and often will work on smaller things for the rest of the day. After work I usually go home and eat dinner or if I’ve been invited, go to my parent’s house once or twice a week. Yay for free home-cooked meals. Depending on the night I’ll either watch TV or read or do some sort of household project or hang out with a friend or two. When I have him, I like to take Gibs on a walk or play Frisbee with him. To be honest, I’m not really a fan of strict routines so I tend to mix it up whenever possible.

04 . what does community mean to you?
Well realizing it’s definitely a big buzz word, especially in the context of the church, I do think it still holds a lot of meaning. I’d say in short that it means sharing your life with other people. I’d argue that we do this by spending time together, being open and honest with one another, and being committed to one another in good and difficult times. So I think if we want real, true, life-changing community we have to be willing to give it all of those things. We have to be willing to offer our time, our vulnerability and we have to be committed to doing so.

05 . what is one item in your house that you should throw out but probably never will?
I’m not a particularly sentimental person when it comes to objects, but I’ll probably always keep the table my dad and I built together a few years ago. It’s wobbly and doesn’t really fit well in most spaces, but I’m proud that I actually finished something like that with my dad.

06 . when was the last time you said or did something stupid or goofy in front of someone you really liked & what was the outcome of it?
I’m always doing something stupid or goofy these days, but I’m fairly choosy about my real-life crushes and have probably had less than half a dozen serious ones, so this situation hasn’t come up too, too much. I do remember one time I was talked into doing this ridiculous Hammer-like running man dance (which basically just involved me flailing around like a spaz) while wearing by hair in multiple ponytails, and having a night-time mouth guard in in front of a friend I kind of liked. He laughed really hard and we stayed friends but nothing particularly romantic ever happened between us. I have no idea if that was the thing that turned him off, but if it was then it wasn’t a big loss because he was kind of a jerk at that point anyways.

07 . who has been most instrumental in shaping who you are today?
There’s not really one person in particular. My family of course. My parents and two sisters. One fairly interesting person that comes to mind is my middle school basketball coach, Susan Jewett. She was there at a time when I was really awkward and didn’t have a lot of friends and she really helped me to come out of my shell. We were not a good team and never won a game in the two years I played, but I always felt appreciated and important and part of something and Ms. Jewett had a lot to do with that. So Ms. Jewett, if you’re out there somewhere still involved in the lives of young people, thanks and keep up the good work. At other times various authors, filmmakers, speakers, friends, and preachers have all had really profound impacts on me and way I live.

08 . what do you struggle with most in your spiritual life & how do you address it?
Spiritual disciplines are really tough for me. As I mentioned before, I’m not really a fan of routine and so I have to be extremely intentional about making time to do things like study my Bible and pray and fast.

09 . what’s your favorite quote from napoleon dynomite?
“Napoleon, don’t be jealous that I’ve been chatting online with babes all day. Besides, we both know that I’m training to be a cage fighter.”

10 . what movie best depicts your life & why?
Well, I spent a lot of my life from my teens to my early 20’s in a fairly reclusive state due to social anxiety and depression and so I tend to really relate to characters that move from loneliness to connection and community. That’s why I love movies like About a Boy, and The Sound of Music, and Uptown Girls, and My Big Fat Greek Wedding, and Garden State. I wouldn’t say any of them are the height of film-making, but I relate to the characters in them pretty strongly.

From Jon
What is your favorite cereal?
Cinnamon Toast Crunch. No. Fruity Pebbles. No. Honey Nut Cheerios. No. Lucky Charms. I love cereal.

If you had to be an animal, what would it be?
So someone is forcing be to be an animal? That’s crazy. If I have to, cats have the life. They just sit around and eat and sleep and poop and usually there’s more than one of them so they have a buddy. If they’re lucky they get to go outside and explore and then come inside and lie in that sunny spot on the floor and be petted by a nice human who will clean up after and feed them.

Would you rather have people think you’re nice or honest?
That’s a tough one. I really value tact and diplomacy. If I had to choose (you’re all about tough choices Jon b.) I’d go with honest but I probably don’t always live my life that way.

Name a band that you haven’t seen, but would like to before you die.
U2

If you were to go on Dancing with the Stars, who would you want your partner to be?
Am I the celebrity or the dance pro? I don’t really know the names of the dance pros but the guys who’s been with Christy Yamaguchi this year seems like a nice fellow.
If I were the dance pro and had to choose any celeb to dance with, I’d go with Matthew Perry ‘cause I have a mad crush on him and I assume he’d keep me laughing.
If I had to choose a celeb that’s already been on the show…um…ooo…Mario Lopez. ‘cause what woman in her 20’s wouldn’t want to do the tango with A.C. Slater?

What is your favorite decade and why?
For nostalgia like when it comes to pop culture I’d have to go with 90’s because that’s sort of when I started paying attention to music and movies and television and the world around me. Just as far as which one I’ve enjoyed the most, I’d have to go with the 80’s because it encompassed the bulk of my childhood. Historically, maybe the 60s – 70’s just because of the art that came out of that period.

From Christine
1. What is your middle name?
Lauren

2. What will be most important to you in a mate?
I have a few basic criteria: 1. Loves the Lord and has evidence of that relationship in his life. 2. Has a really good sense of humor 3. Has an intelligence level that’s similar to or greater than my own. 4. Has an appreciation for culture.

3. What do you like best about the Lord?
I’m constantly humbled by how forgiving He is and how generous He is with me.

4. Who’s someone (famous or not) that you consider to have a great sense of humor?
Honestly, Whitney Chambers cracks me up. If you don’t know her, you totally should.

5. Where would you like to travel that you haven’t?
Italy, Ireland, Scotland, Australia, various US states and cities.

6. Fav place you have traveled?
I’ve been very few places. I love the beach, though.

7. What do you like least about life?
Not having enough money. I hate thinking about, worrying about, and dealing with money.

8. Fav book/movie?
Book: The Chronicles of Narnia or The Space Trilogy. It’s a toss up.
Movie: The Sound of Music, Waiting for Guffman, and Conspiracy Theory

9. Fav meal?
Most anything seafood. I also love my mom’s mashed potatoes.

10. Best birthday?
As a kid I think it was age 5 that I had the slamminest neighborhood b-day party ever, complete with Sesame Street cake.

11. Where did you go to college?
I went to Campbell for 2 years and Middle Tennessee State for the next 2.

Other Questions (that I can remember)
What song has had the most impact on your life?
I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For. At some point I realized how hopeful that song actually is, how it’s not about being lost but about living in a world in which satisfaction isn’t possible because we were made for much more.

What is your favorite gemstone?
Probably opal. I like topaz too.

What are your favorite hamburger toppings?
Sharp cheddar, bacon, ketchup, yellow mustard, and I how could I have forgotten pickles? Lots of pickles.

What’s your favorite adult beverage?
Gin and tonic.

If you could rule any country/empire in history, what would it be?
Some place small, warm, sunny, and laid back. I’m not really the empire-ruling type.

What’s your physical “type” when it comes to guys?
I’m pretty open when it comes to the physical appearance of guys I’m attracted to and I can honestly say that it’s gone all across the spectrum. A nice smile is probably the most important thing. I like facial hair and stubble but can appreciate some clean-shavenness as well. If we’re talking about averages, I’ve been attracted to quite a few “stocky” fellows.

What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done?
Sadly I couldn’t think of a good answer to this question. I feel too old to be doing all of the crazy things I missed doing as a teenager. But you never know. I’m not opposed to random acts of strangeness and with the right company I might be inclined to do something out of the bounds of normal. So I suppose the best answer to this question is, “To be determined.”

Entry filed under: art, books, c.s. lewis, design, dogs, God, humor, movies, Music, nerdiness, personal.

Don’t you wish you had seen this in person? In Rotation

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Whitney  |  May 9, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    I’m funny!! Yay! Also, we are a lot alike, L-dawg. Right down to the *exact* toppings we love on hamburgers.

    It’ll be fun being roomies, buddy!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello Friends

Welcome to my blog. I plan on exploring a bit of culture a bit of design a bit of whatever strikes my fancy.

RSS Me at Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Recent Posts

del.icio.us


