Character Actors

November 6, 2007 at 11:42 am 2 comments

A few personal favorites
Christopher Guest and crew

Somehow, Christopher Guest has assembled the best comedic cast ever: Catherine O’Hara, Parker Posey, Fred Willard, Eugene Levy, Micheael McKean, Jennifer Coolidge, Jane Lynch, Don Lake, Ed Begley, Bob Balaban, John Michael Higgins, Fred Willard, Harry Shearer…
Amazing together, but they’re all individually fabulous as well.
See: Waiting for Guffman

 

Holly Hunter

She’s got a great combination of quirky and sexy that allows her to pull off a variety of characters while still being very much herself. Terrific voice too.
See: O Brother Where Art Thou

 

Jeff Goldblum

You just can’t not watch him when he’s on the screen. I defy you to turn away. It’s not possible. He could be in the most terrible movie ever (see below) and you’d still watch it. I did. His strange mannerisms and cadence defy explanation.
See: Hideaway

 

Alan Rickman

While most of us know and love him from Harry Potter, I first came to relish his dulcet, British tones in Galaxy Quest as the Spock-like sidekick of Tim Allen. He often plays a put-upon or depressed but likable character. I could watch/listen to him all day. All day I tell you.
See: Love Actually

 

Frances McDormand

She has a great ability to make an audience truly sympathize with her characters.
See: Fargo

 

Joan Cusak

Just always makes me laugh.
See: Where the Heart Is

 

Bonnie Hunt

The perpetual best friend. Doesn’t she remind you of your mom? No? Well she reminds me of mine.
See: Return to Me

 

Tim Curry

Like Jeff Goldblum, Tim Curry is sort of a character unto himself. His face and voice are irresistible and his acting range is surprisingly diverse.
See: Oscar

 

Tyne Daly

I always enjoy her

strong-and-wise-but-inwardly-vulnerable-older-woman character.
See: Judging Amy

 

Cloris Leachman

One of my favorite actresses of all time. Her dramatic acting is always tinged with comedy and her comedic acting with pathos. She has, unlike many actresses of her generation, actually allowed herself to age and has done so beautifully.
See: Spanglish

 

Peter Sarsgaard

I normally don’t like actors who have such a cynical demeanor, but somehow Sarsgaard wins my heart.
See: Shattered Glass

 

Gene Wilder

I sort of see him as the male version of Cloris Leachman.
See: Alice in Wonderland

 

Emma Thompson

She can go from silly to refined to average to psychotic and is just always eminently watchable. Yes, I just used the word eminently. Don’t hate.
See: Stranger Than Fiction

 

Kevin Kline

I can’t say I enjoy all of his roles, and although he does comedy really well, I think I like him best as a dramatic actor.
See: Cry Freedom

 

Diane Keaton

Another older female actress who has aged gracefully. Not every role she’s chosen is great, but even in terrible movies, she remains her charming self.
See: Something’s Gotta Give

 

Steve Carell

Another comedian who I think if given the opportunity, has the potential become one of the greatest actors of his generation.
See: Little Miss Sunshine

 

Jerry Stiller

He always plays essentially the same guy, but how can you not love that guy?
See: The King of Queens

 

David Strathairn

The dude has been in a gagillion movies in the past 20 years. He’s that steady, solid, actor that you always feel a mild affection for, even when he plays a smarmy character, if only because you’ve seen him in a dozen other roles.

See: Lost in Yonkers

 

Entry filed under: art, movies, television.

I’m sorry but… why yes, yes I am

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beth  |  November 7, 2007 at 1:31 am

    That picture of Tim Curry is amazing. I love how it fades out at the bottom. Speaking of Tim Curry, we were supposed to have a Tim Curry movie night in which we ate curried foods and watched “Clue,” and I don’t think we ever had it. It’s back on the list now, though, baby, yeah!!

    Reply
  • 2. Lauren  |  November 7, 2007 at 9:57 am

    I know right? It looks like an old-school Olan Mills portrait. I half expect to see a smaller picture of his head floating just above the shoulder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello Friends

Welcome to my blog. I plan on exploring a bit of culture a bit of design a bit of whatever strikes my fancy.

RSS Me at Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Recent Posts

del.icio.us


